not firing .. Output: * NO d

Post your support requests/solutions for phpJobScheduler [website]
dennis

not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:29 pm

I am using phpmysqlautobackup which works great, thanks!

when i schedule a task and test the path of run.php it works fine, but when i fire it through firepjs.php the file does not get executed. the error log says

Code: Select all

Script: http://mywebsite.de/backup/run.php
Execution time: 0.02180 seconds via PHP CURL  Output: * NO data


when i manually go to http://mywebsite,de/backup/run.php it performs the backup

i'm clueless. why is it not working?

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:32 pm

this is the path to the firepjs.php file

http://mywebsite,de/phpJobScheduler/firepjs.php

davidgwalker
MODS thats what I do that is! But definately NO mod music! It has to be ROCK!
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Contact:

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby davidgwalker » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:33 pm

Hi Dennis, it maybe your host has blocked external access (the server will percieve the call as external if you use the full url), try a relative url instead, for details see:
viewtopic.php?&p=2759

Cheers

Dave

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:43 pm

thanks dave for getting back so soon

i tried it but still getting

Code: Select all

Script: ../../backup/run.php
Execution time: 0.00049 seconds via PHP include  Output: * NO data


still when running run.php manually through the browser all goes well

: (

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:44 pm

(and i did test the path when i modified the job)

davidgwalker
MODS thats what I do that is! But definately NO mod music! It has to be ROCK!
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Contact:

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby davidgwalker » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:55 pm

What is the output in the browser from running:

../../backup/run.php

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:04 pm

i assume you mean after i klick test path, with '../../backup/run.php' in the 'script to run'-field
this is the output. and the backup file appears where it is supposed to

Code: Select all

BACKUP Type: Full database backup (all tables included)





Below are the records of the last 6 backups.
DATE and TIME (total bytes, Total lines exported)
30 Apr 2012 - 18:00:59 (2022.55 KB, 4,357 lines)
30 Apr 2012 - 17:50:15 (2022.55 KB, 4,357 lines)
30 Apr 2012 - 17:41:37 (2021.79 KB, 4,353 lines)
30 Apr 2012 - 17:41:10 (2021.79 KB, 4,353 lines)
30 Apr 2012 - 17:38:17 (2021.43 KB, 4,351 lines)
30 Apr 2012 - 16:04:26 (2015.10 KB, 4,334 lines)

ERRORS: None logged!

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:05 pm

(all backups listed there are from manually running run.php)

davidgwalker
MODS thats what I do that is! But definately NO mod music! It has to be ROCK!
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Contact:

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby davidgwalker » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:08 pm

Who do you host with?
Have you asked them?

davidgwalker
MODS thats what I do that is! But definately NO mod music! It has to be ROCK!
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Contact:

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby davidgwalker » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:10 pm

You will be paying your host money, please ask them.

dennis

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby dennis » Sat May 05, 2012 6:23 pm

hi

the host is http://***************

i haven't asked them because i don't really know what exactly to ask them. i don;t really understand how your script is setup and where the problem might lie.

we solved it by using a cron job. i am not the website administrator and don;t even have access to the control panel of the webspace/domain. the administrator does not have too much knowledge of programming and stuff

I'm just involved in the development of the website

tloch14

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby tloch14 » Tue May 15, 2012 6:19 am

Just thought I would put in my input, as I ran into similar issues.

I had a script that would store information into a database, and I needed this to happen every 6 hours.

I was finding that when I scheduled a task, (run once, within a minute, for testing purposes), the script would say that it ran, but looking at the database, it was obvious that the script wasn't running. There was no output or error logs or anything. The script would run when I clicked on "Test Path", so there was something weird happening and I wasn't sure.

I read that if the folder the script was in was password protected (which mine is through .htaccess, for now) there would be problems and that I had to remove the protection.

I also read in this thread that using direct pathing ("../../scriptFolder/script.php") instead of external access ("http://www.myDomain.com/scriptFolder/script.php") might the problem of the script not running, as detailed by the OP.

So just to clarify. I had the same symptoms as the OP (timing fired, but the script wouldn't run except through testing the path), AND I had a script in a .htaccess protected folder. The *only* thing I did was use relative pathing ("../../scriptFolder/script.php") and the script runs perfectly now.

I don't know the specifics of how the scheduler works, but I'm one of those types who is okay seeing something work and not worry about why or how. Perhaps Dave can read this and explain what's happening.

davidgwalker
MODS thats what I do that is! But definately NO mod music! It has to be ROCK!
Posts: 1807
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:20 pm
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Contact:

Re: not firing .. Output: * NO d

Postby davidgwalker » Fri May 18, 2012 10:27 am

Simple really, the script does connects the remote page when you use something like this:
"http://www.myDomain.com/scriptFolder/script.php"

And it does a simple inclue when you use something like this:
"../../scriptFolder/script.php"

In the first instance it needs to authenticate you so it needs a username/password to check (if the folder is protected), in the second instance no authentication is required as the script is running on the local server.


Return to “phpJobScheduler [forum]”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest